Real safety

Product testing

Ultan Mulligan

How can we make the roads safer?

ETSI

Director
(ETSI Centre for Testing and Interoperability)
ETSI’s standards for communication between vehicles and surrounding infrastructure need to be thoroughly tested. For Ultan Mulligan, DEKRA proved to be an ideal testing partner with its facility in Málaga, Spain, supported by highly competent people.

The testing ground for connected driving in Málaga, Spain, is part of the international DEKRA testing network.

Under the Andalusian sun: test curtains for realistic demonstrations.

Vehicles of tomorrow will be more connected, allowing them to issue warnings to drivers about impend ­ ing dangers or approaching road works. The standards around which these solutions are built need to be tested extensively. ETSI, a major body for globally applicable standards, chose DEKRA as a partner for a week of testing in December 2019.

Two cars approach an intersection at the same time. Visibility is partially hampered by buildings and vegetation, increasing the potential for a collision. However, the two vehicles are able to communicate with one another via onboard systems before they even reach the intersection. In both cars, a warning is issued to the drivers and an accident is averted. Major car manufacturers, equipment suppliers, government agencies, road authorities, and a range of technology suppliers are currently working on solutions for scenarios like this. GPS signals, onboard and road side units, and a strong cellular network all play a role here – all driven by information and communication technology (ICT) standards, which set down how the different components communicate with one another. One of the largest bodies for creating ICT standards – including those for intelligent transport systems (ITS) – is ETSI. “We’ve been developing ITS standards for a number of years,” says Ultan Mulligan, Director of the ETSI Centre for Testing and Interoperability.“ It’s extremely important that we factor in interoperability, so that all solutions from all providers can work together,” he continues. Before any standard is officially launched, it is thoroughly tested – because when a vehicle communication solution is introduced to the market, there can’t be any question of whether it is working correctly.

In December 2019, ETSI collaborated with DEKRA and the 5G Automotive Association (5GAA) for the first joint Cellular Vehicle to-Everything (C-V2x) interoperability tests. The week-long event was held at DEKRA’s Connected Vehicle Test Development Center in Málaga, Spain. The 17 different vendors that participated could screen their devices using standardized tests to verify that they comply with the original standard.

“DEKRA’s center was the perfect setting, because it allowed us to do indoor testing in a lab, followed by testing on an outdoor track. More than anything, though, DEKRA’s staff provided excellent support: they helped us organize the event, they understood what is necessary to test secure connectivity, and they supported the vendors extensively,” Mulligan is pleased to report.

In total, test scenarios were executed in 320 combinations with technologies from the 17 vendors. The field interoperability tests included intersection collision risk warning as described above,

solutions for road hazard signaling, such as for slow moving vehicles, and road works warning. Ninety -five percent of the tests showed an extremely positive level of interoperability. “The goal is to push the standards to the limit and figure out where improvements still need to be made before commercial release,” explains Mulligan. By the way, Mulligan estimates that solutions based on the tested standards could be integrated into new vehicles in the next year or two. Until then, more testing will have to be done. “It won’t be about repeating tests, but expanding the scope to demonstrate

an even greater level of interoperability,” says Mulligan. ETSI has already chosen DEKRA to organize the next round of testing – an opportunity that will give DEKRA a further possibility to strengthen its role in secure connectivity.

Einfach sicher

Product Testing

Ultan Mulligan

Wie können wir die Straßen sicherer machen?

ETSI

Direktor
(ETSI Centre for Testing and Interoperability)
Die Normen des ETSI für die Kommunikation zwischen Fahrzeugen und mit der Infrastruktur in der Umgebung müssen gründlich getestet werden. Für Ultan Mulligan erwies sich DEKRA mit seinen Einrichtungen in Málaga, Spanien, auch dank der Unterstützung durch die hochqualifizierten Mitarbei ter, als idealer Partner für diese Tests.

Das Testareal für vernetztes Fahren in Málaga/Spanien ist Teil des internationalen DEKRA Prüfnetzwerks.

Unter der Sonne von Andalusien: Testkulisse für realitätsnahe Demonstrationen. 

Die Fahrzeuge von morgen werden umfassend vernetzt sein, damit sie die Fahrer vor drohender Gefahr oder vorausliegenden Baustellen warnen können. Die Normen, auf denen diese Lösungen aufbauen, müssen umfassend geprüft und erprobt werden. Das ETSI, eine im Bereich global geltender Normen wichtige Organisation, wählte für eine Testwoche im Dezember 2019 DEKRA als Partner aus.

Zwei Fahrzeuge nähern sich gleichzeitig einer Kreuzung. Die Sicht wird teilweise durch Gebäude und Vegetation erschwert, was die Unfallwahrscheinlichkeit erhöht. Die beiden Fahrzeuge sind jedoch in der Lage, über Bordsysteme mit ­ einander zu kommunizieren, bevor sie die Kreuzung überhaupt erreichen. In beiden wird eine Warnung an die Fahrer ausgegeben und ein Unfall wird verhindert. Große Automobil ­hersteller, Ausrüster, staatliche Agenturen, Straßenverkehrs ­ behörden und eine Reihe von Technologieanbietern arbeiten derzeit an Lösungen für solche Szenarien. GPS -Signale, Geräte an Bord und am Straßenrand und ein leistungsfähiges Mobilfunknetz spielen in diesem Zusammenhang eine wichtige Rolle. Sie alle basieren auf IKT -Normen (Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie), mit denen die Kommunikation der verschiedenen Komponenten untereinander geregelt wird. Eine der größten Einrichtungen für die Entwicklung von IKT -Normen – darunter auch Normen für intelligente Transportsysteme (ITS) – ist das Europäische Institut für Telekommunikationsnormen (ETSI). „Wir entwickeln schon seit Jahren ITS -Normen“, so Ultan Mulligan, Direktor des ETSI Centre for Testing and Interoperability. „Interoperabilität ist ein enorm wichtiger Faktor, damit die Lösun ­ gen aller Anbieter zusammen ­ arbeiten können“, so Mulligan weiter. Vor der offiziellen Einführung einer Norm wird diese gründlich getestet – denn wenn eine Lösung für Fahrzeugkommunikation auf den Markt kommt, muss sichergestellt sein, dass sie einwandfrei funktioniert.

Im Dezember 2019 arbeitete das ETSI mit DEKRA und der 5G Automotive Association (5GAA) im Rahmen der ersten gemein samen C-V2x-Interoperabilitäts ­ prüfungen (Cellular Vehicle to-Everything) zusammen. Die einwöchige Veranstaltung fand im Connected Car Competence Center von DEKRA in Málaga, Spanien, statt. Die 17 teilnehmen den Anbieter konnten ihre Geräte mithilfe von standardisierten Tests überprüfen, um festzustellen, ob sie die ursprüngliche Norm erfüllen.

„Das DEKRA Center war der ideale Ort, da wir dort die Prüfungen zunächst im Labor ausführen konnten, und anschließend auf freier Strecke. Besonders zu erwähnen ist die ausgezeichnete Unterstützung durch die DEKRA Mitarbeiter: Sie halfen uns bei der Organisation, kannten die notwendigen Voraussetzungen für die Prüfung sicherer Konnektivität und unterstützten die Teilnehmer umfassend“, so das positive Fazit von Mulligan.“

Insgesamt wurden Prüfszenarien in 320 Kombinationen mit Technologien der 17 Anbieter ausgeführt. Die Feldversuche auf Interoperabilität umfassten Unfallrisiko-Warnungen an Kreuzungen, wie oben 

beschrieben, Lösungen für die Anzeige von Gefahren im Verkehr, etwa langsam fahrende Fahrzeuge, sowie Baustellen-Warnungen. Bei 95 Prozent der Tests wurde ein extrem hohes Interoperabilitätsniveau festgestellt. „Das Ziel besteht darin, die Normen völlig auszureizen und ggf. zu erkennen, welche Verbesserungen vor der Markteinführung noch notwendig sind“, erläutert Mulligan. Übrigens schätzt Mulligan, dass auf den geprüften Normen basierende Lösungen bereits im nächsten oder übernächsten Jahr in Neu ­ fahrzeuge integriert werden könnten. Bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt sind noch weitere Tests erforderlich. „Es geht nicht darum, die Tests zu wiederholen, sondern um eine Erweiterung des Testumfangs, damit nachweislich 

ein noch höheres Niveau an Interoperabilität erreicht wird“, so Mulligan. Das ETSI hat sich für die nächste Testrunde bereits für DEKRA entschieden – eine Gelegenheit für DEKRA, seine Rolle im Bereich der sicheren Konnektivität weiter zu stärken.