Real safety

East & South Asia

Sam Zeng

Protecting people and the environment?

Wanhua Chemical Group CO., LTD.

General Manager
(DEKRA China Process Safety & Organizational Reliability)
To establish a health, safety, and environment (HSE) management system that can be used at Wanhua Chemical sites in China and overseas.

Especially in production halls, a pronounced safety culture is indispensable. This is true worldwide – and also in China.

The Wanhua Chemical plant in Ningbo has the highest capacity for manufacturing MDI worldwide: 1.2 million tons.

Scientific and technological innovation has always been central to Wanhua Chemical’s competitiveness. Through research and development, it has mastered a number of key tech ­ nologies in the field of advanced chemical materials such as MDI and TDI technologies. MDI and TDI are materials used in the production of polyurethane (PU). Polyurethane is widely used in a huge variety of industries including automotive, furniture, rail transit, adhesives, coatings, and waterproof and protective products. Wanhua Chemical’s range has been expanded from a single product (MDI) to include polyurethane, petrochemicals, and fine chemicals. “The number of devices, processes as well as the types and scale of products is increasing at an extremely fast pace. Gearing up to enter the global market, the integration of diversified technology, culture, and management has become a priority,” Sam Zeng, General Manager of DEKRA China Process Safety & Organizational Reliability explains. Against this backdrop, establish ­ ing an HSE management system at Wanhua Chemical that can be used at its overseas plants has become an essential requirement to improve HSE in the long term. To this end, DEKRA has designed an innovative three -step implementation plan, including identify ­ ing a risk profile, designing a system framework, renewing a systematic audit protocol, optimizing workflow, and developing documents in the future. As early as 2014, DEKRA provided safety culture assessment services to Wanhua Chemical. To help prevent accidents at its plants

Precision and process safety are two central pillars of the chemical industry.

processing hazardous chemicals, Wanhua Chemical cooperated with DEKRA to pro ­ mote its safety culture. About 3,800 people in the factories in Yantai and Ningbo participated in a comprehensive survey. After the survey, focus groups, interviews, and action plan sessions followed. As a result, Wanhua Chemical implemented a series of measures to improve the safety culture and built its facilities with safety in mind. Since 2018, DEKRA has established a close relationship with Wanhua Chemical to improve process safety management at factories in Yantai, Ningbo, and Zhuhai. “DEKRA took a holistic approach backed by a portfolio of services addressing every aspect of health, safety, and the environment,” says Sam Zeng. He continues:

“We worked closely with Wanhua Chemical to design tailored solutions to central issues, such as maintaining physical and mental health, protecting the environment, and preventing risks.”

DEKRA not only assisted Wanhua Chemical in complying with legal requirements, but also applied global process safety expertise to develop and support an effective, integrated process safety management program that is specific to Wanhua Chemical’s needs. In line with high standards of safety and in order to cater to the needs of Wanhua Chemical even better in the future, DEKRA has combined extensive expertise in all key technological and environ ­ mental aspects. Since Wanhua Chemical needs to protect its operational business environment, data, people, and processes, DEKRA continues to be in close contact and discussion with senior management and project teams. Both parties combine resources to develop a robust approach to safety, and strive to achieve a perfect balance between the needs of Wanhua Chemical and the philosophy, methods, and international best practices of DEKRA .

Einfach sicher

East & South Asia

Sam Zeng

Lassen sich Mensch und Umwelt schützen?

Wanhua Chemical Group CO., LTD.

General Manager
(DEKRA China Process Safety & Organizational Reliability)
Aufbau eines Arbeitssicherheits Managementsystems, das sich für die Standorte von Wanhua Chemical in China und im Ausland eignet.

Besonders in Produktionshallen ist eine ausgeprägte Sicherheitskultur unerlässlich. Das gilt weltweit – und auch in China.

Das Werk von Wanhua Chemical in Ningbo hat die höchste Kapazität zur Herstellung von MDI weltweit: 1,2 Millionen Tonnen.

Wissenschaftliche und technologische Innovation ist seit jeher das Geheimnis der Wettbewerbs ­ fähigkeit von Wanhua Chemical. Durch Forschung und Entwicklung beherrscht das Unternehmen eine Reihe von Schlüsseltechnologien auf dem Gebiet modernster chemischer Stoffe wie den MDI und TDI-Technologien. MDI und TDI sind Stoffe für die Herstellung von Polyurethan (PU). Polyurethan findet in einer Vielzahl von Branchen Verwendung, u. a. in der Automobilindustrie, der Möbelbranche, im Schienenverkehr, in Klebstoffen, Beschichtungen und Produkten, die wasserdicht sind oder eine Schutzfunktion haben. „Die Anzahl der Anlagen, Prozesse und Produkte wächst extrem schnell. Da wir uns auf den globalen Markt vorbereiten, hat die Integration von Technologien, Kulturen und Manage mentabläufen Priorität”, erklärt Sam Zeng, General Manager of DEKRA China Process Safety & Organizational Reliability. Vor diesem Hintergrund ist der Aufbau eines Arbeitssicherheit Managementsystems bei Wanhua Chemical unerlässlich, um lang ­ fristig bessere Ergebnisse zu erzielen. Damit das gelingt, hat DEKRA einen innovativen Drei Stufen-Plan zur Implementierung entwickelt: Dieser beinhaltet künftig die Ermittlung eines Risikoprofils, die Entwicklung eines Systems als Rahmenvorgabe, die Überarbeitung eines Protokolls für systematische Audits, die Optimierung des Workflows und die Entwicklung von Dokumenten. Bereits 2014 beurteilte DEKRA die Sicherheitskultur im Unternehmen. Zur Verhütung von Unfällen in den Werken, in denen 

In der Chemiebranche sind Präzision und Prozesssicherheit
zwei ganz zentrale Parameter.

gefährliche Chemikalien verarbeitet werden, arbeitete Wanhua Chemical mit Unterstützung von DEKRA daran, die Sicherheitskultur zu fördern. Rund 3.800 Mitarbeiter in den Fabriken in Yantai und Ningbo nahmen dazu an einer umfassenden Umfrage teil. Auf diese Umfrage folgten Fokusgruppen, Gespräche und Treffen zur Entwicklung von Maßnahmenplänen. Anschließend setzte Wanhua Chemical Maßnahmen um, mit denen die Sicherheitskultur verbessert wurde, und berücksichtigte beim Bau neuer Werke Sicherheitsbelange von Anfang an. Seit 2018 besteht zwischen DEKRA und Wanhua Chemical eine enge Geschäftsbeziehung, um das Prozesssicherheits ­management in den Werken in Yantai, Ningbo und Zhuhai zu verbessern. „DEKRA entschied sich für einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz, gestützt auf ein Leistungsportfolio, das bei den Themen Gesundheit, Sicherheit und Umwelt keinen Aspekt außer Acht lässt“, erläutert Sam Zeng und fährt fort:

„Wir haben in enger Abstimmung mit Wanhua Chemical maßgeschneiderte Lösungen für zentrale Fragen wie den Erhalt der körperlichen und geistigen Gesundheit, Umweltschutz und Risikoprävention entwickelt.“

DEKRA hat Wanhua Chemical nicht nur dabei unterstützt, recht ­liche Vorschriften zu erfüllen, sondern nutzte auch seine globale Expertise im Bereich Prozesssicherheit, um ein wirkungsvolles, integriertes Programm für das Prozesssicherheitsmanagement zu entwickeln. Mit Blick auf hohe Sicherheitsstandards und zukünftige Anforderungen von Wanhua Chemical hat DEKRA sein umfassendes Know-how in Technologie – und Umweltfragen aufgeboten. Für Wanhua Chemical ist kaum etwas wichtiger als der Schutz seiner Betriebsumgebung, Daten, Mitarbeiter und Prozesse. Daher steht DEKRA weiterhin in engem Kontakt mit der obersten Führungsebene und den Projektteams. Unter Einsatz gemeinsamer Ressourcen entsteht so ein belastbares Sicherheitskonzept, mit dem ein perfektes Gleichgewicht zwischen den Anforderungen von Wanhua Chemical und den Überzeugungen, Methoden und international bewährten Verfahren von DEKRA erreicht werden soll.