Real safety

ADAC, DEKRA, ZF

The digitalization of mobility raises entirely new questions. We provide the answers.

ULRICH KLAUS BECKER
Vice president of ADAC

STEFAN KÖLBL
Chairman of the Management Board DEKRA e.V. and DEKRA SE, CEO

With around 21 million members, ADAC is far and away the largest automobile association in Germany, and is also the second largest in the world. For Ulrich Klaus Becker, Vice President of ADAC, the situation is clear:


“From the consumer’s point of view, it is unacceptable for the manufacturers to make decisions about the usage of vehicle data single-handedly. It is the vehicle owner who must have the control over their data.”

The ADAC is therefore demanding that the EU introduce a statutory regulation concerning free access to vehicle data which is also independent of the manufacturer. Vehicle owners should be able to control their data as they see fit. This means that they decide whether the data can be released to third parties, and they profit if it is marketed by companies with data -based business models. The demands of the ADAC also include a requirement to inform

the vehicle owners what data is actually collected and how often it is transferred. In accordance with its statutory function, vehicle safety is the focus for DEKRA. DEKRA is therefore demanding unfiltered access to all safety and environment-related vehicle data. This is because, without this data, a DEKRA expert would not be able to state reliably in court whether an accident was caused by the driver or by a driver assistance system. For this reason, DEKRA has launched the Trust Center initiative. The aim is to establish a data custodian that is independent of the manufacturer.


“For an independent inspection, we require data that is complete, unmodified, and does not come from the manufacturer’s back-end database,”

states DEKRA CEO Stefan Kölbl, emphasizing the need for a Trust Center. This is because it is only with the help of this type of data custodian that DEKRA will con ­tinue to be able to perform its official mandate in the future and ensure vehicle safety in a connected world.

As computers on wheels, vehicles produce a huge amount of data. But who does it really belong to? And who should be able to access what data when? ADAC and DEKRA have clear solutions for this data dilemma that take the consumer/driver into consideration.

Employees are the company’s most important resource.

WOLFGANG LINSENMAIER
Member of the Management Board DEKRA SE, CFO, HR and Organizational Excellence awards the prize to the winning team of the traditional DEKRA soccer tournament.

“People focus is a core value at DEKRA,” explains Chairman Wolfgang Linsenmaier. “The expertise, inventiveness, and reliability of our employees are our most important resources.” It is for this reason that DEKRA nurtures a culture of trust and community.

Employees are given the freedom to help shape the future of the company and to prove their entrepreneurial flair. That is why DEKRA creates networking opportunities for exchanging knowledge and experience.

“Every day, our employees dedicate themselves – using their expertise, passion, and sense of responsibility – to the matter of safety in many relevant areas of life. This is what has enabled DEKRA to keep growing over many years.”

To ensure this doesn’t change, DEKRA works continuously to maintain a working environment in which its employees have a sense of well-being. An environment with stimulating projects and tasks. But an environment in which work life is compatible with family life, as well. What’s more, DEKRA encourages every employee to develop their skills, and provides opportunities for personal development – including internationally across five continents. Yet there are also expectations:

“Our employees always remain neutral and unbiased, and they adhere to laws and ethical principles,”

explains Board member Wolfgang Linsenmaier in a nutshell. DEKRA employees also set an example in terms of safety-conscious behavior. They look for and recognize areas with the potential for further improvement, as well as new business opportunities. They demonstrate teamwork and respect with every action and are willing to exchange knowledge. And as a global company, DEKRA is well aware of how important diversity and equal opportunity are for a business to succeed. Approximately 90 ­different nationalities, a good balance of ages and a constantly growing percentage of women – these aspects all speak for the successfully vibrant culture of diversity at DEKRA.

Soccer tournaments, ski cups, biker meetings – at DEKRA, there are many occasions for getting together outside of the workplace. The vibrant culture of the company comes to the fore at these events, but they also show that DEKRA appreciates its employees.

Together we are on the path toward making mobility related issues such as automated driving a reality.

TORSTEN GOLLEWSKI
Head of Autonomous Mobility Solutions ZF Friedrichshafen AG

CLEMENS KLINKE
Member of the Management Board DEKRA SE, COO, Regions and Sales, Head of Region Germany

With around 150,000 employees in 40 countries, ZF primarily supplies systems for car and commercial vehicle mobility. One focus of further development is digital networking and automation: ZF allows vehicles to see, think, and act.

“We are a sought-after partner when it comes to realizing automated driving,” explains Torsten Gollewski. “This is due to our comprehensive system solutions when it comes to sensors, computing power, software, and actuators.”

The Group, which is headquartered in Friedrichshafen by Lake Constance, regularly presents innovations as part of their ZF Technology Days. The one -week event took place at DEKRA’s premises in 2019 – at the DEKRA Lausitzring in Klettwitz, which is part of the DEKRA Technology Center.

ZF spent one week presenting its solutions for “Next Generation Mobility” in front of national and international media representatives and customers. The focus here was on hybrid and electric drives for cars, system solutions for auto ­ mated driving, as well as integrated safety and innovative chassis technology. Situated around 60 kilometers north of Dresden, the tracks and infrastructure of the DEKRA Lausitzring are ideal for these types of events.

„The combination of technology center, test track, and race track is not only an innovation site for mobility of the future, but also a perfect event venue,” reports Board member Clemens Klinke.

The DEKRA Lausitzring is already the largest manufacturerinde ­ pendent testing center in Europe when it comes to automated driving. DEKRA covers all aspects of testing there – from simulation and reproducible tests to field trials on the track. Nevertheless, DEKRA is continuing to expand its portfolio. The expansion of the test tracks is being driven forward this year with the establishment of test facilities for connected driving functions.

A new ecosystem for mobility of the future is currently emerging in Germany. Manufacturers, suppliers, research facilities, and expert organizations such as DEKRA ensure that mobility of the future is not only highly automated, but also safe.

Einfach sicher

ADAC, DEKRA, ZF

Die Digitalisierung der Mobilität wirft ganz neue Fragen auf. Wir geben Antworten.

ULRICH KLAUS BECKER
Vizepräsident ADAC

STEFAN KÖLBL
Chairman of the Management Board DEKRA e.V. and DEKRA SE, CEO

Mit rund 21 Millionen Mitgliedern ist der ADAC der bei weitem größte Automobilclub in Deutschland und weltweit der zweitgrößte. Für ADAC Vizepräsident Ulrich Klaus Becker ist die Sache klar:


„Aus Verbrauchersicht ist es nicht akzeptabel, dass allein die Hersteller über die Nutzung der Fahrzeugdaten entscheiden. Die Datenhoheit muss beim Fahrzeugbesitzer liegen.“

Der ADAC fordert ebenso wie DEKRA von der EU deshalb
eine gesetzliche Regelung über einen freien, vom Hersteller unabhängigen Zugang zu den Fahrzeugdaten. Fahrzeugbesitzer sollen selbstbestimmt über ihre Daten verfügen können. Das bedeutet: Sie steuern die Freigabe an Dritte und profitieren von der Vermarktung im Rahmen datenbasierter Geschäftsmodelle. Die Forderungen des ADAC schließen die Aufklärung der 

Fahrzeugbesitzer darüber ein, welche Daten überhaupt erhoben und in welcher Häufigkeit übertragen werden. Für DEKRA steht dem satzungsgemäßen Auftrag entsprechend die Fahrzeugsicherheit im Mittelpunkt. Hierzu fordert DEKRA einen ungefilterten Zugang zu allen sicherheits- und umweltrelevanten Fahrzeugdaten. Denn ohne diese Daten ist es einem DEKRA Gutachter vor Gericht nicht möglich, verlässlich zu sagen, ob ein Unfall vom Fahrer oder von einem Fahrassistenzsystem verursacht worden ist. Aus diesem Grund hat DEKRA die Trust-Center-Initiative gestartet. Ziel ist es, einen herstellerunabhängigen Datentreuhänder aufzubauen.

„Für eine unabhängige Prüfung benötigen wir vollständige und unmodifizierte Daten, die nicht vom Back-End des Herstellers stammen“,

unterstreicht DEKRA Chef Stefan Kölbl die Notwendigkeit eines Trust -Center. Denn nur mit Hilfe eines solchen Datentreuhänders kann DEKRA auch in Zukunft seiner hoheitlichen Aufgabe gerecht werden und die Fahrzeugsicherheit in einer vernetzten Welt garantieren.

Als rollende Computer produzieren Fahrzeuge eine Vielzahl von Daten. Doch wem gehören sie eigentlich? Und wer sollte wann auf welche Daten zugreifen können? Mit dem Verbraucher bzw. Autofahrer im Blick haben ADAC und DEKRA klare Lösungen für die Datenfrage.

Die Mitarbeiter sind die wichtigste Ressource des Unternehmens.

WOLFGANG LINSENMAIER
(Member of the Management Board DEKRA SE, CFO, HR and Organizational Excellence) prämiert die Siegermannschaft des traditionellen DEKRA Fußballturniers.

„Mitarbeiterorientierung ist ein zentraler Wert bei DEKRA“, sagt Vorstand Wolfgang Linsenmaier. „Die Expertise, der Ideenreichtum und die Zuverlässigkeit der Mitarbeiter sind unsere wichtigsten Ressourcen.“ DEKRA pflegt deshalb eine Kultur des Miteinanders und Vertrauens.

Mitarbeiter erhalten Freiräume, die Zukunft des Unternehmens mitzugestalten und unternehmerisches Handeln unter Beweis zu stellen. Dazu fördert DEKRA die Vernetzung von Wissen und Erfahrung.

„Täglich engagieren sich unsere Mitarbeiter mit Know-how, Verantwortung und Leidenschaft für die Sicherheit in vielen relevanten Lebenswelten. Dadurch sind wir seit vielen Jahren auf Wachstumskurs.“

Damit das so bleibt, arbeitet DEKRA kontinuierlich an einem Arbeitsumfeld, in dem sich die Mitarbeiter wohlfühlen. Ein Umfeld mit spannenden Projekten und Tätigkeiten. Aber auch ein Umfeld, in dem sich Beruf und Familie miteinander vereinbaren lassen. Darüber hinaus fördert DEKRA die Expertise jedes Einzelnen und bietet Chancen der persönlichen Entwicklung – auch international auf fünf Kontinenten. Doch es gibt auch Erwartungen: 

„Unsere Mitarbeiter agieren stets neutral und unabhängig, und sie halten sich an Gesetze und ethische Grundsätze“,

bringt es Wolfgang Linsenmaier auf den Punkt. Die Mitarbeiter von DEKRA sind darüber hinaus Vorbilder für sicherheitsbewusstes Verhalten. Sie suchen und erkennen Potenziale für weitere Verbesserungen und neue Geschäftschancen. Zusammenarbeit, Respekt und Wissensaustausch zeichnen ihr Handeln aus. Und DEKRA weiß als global operierendes Unternehmen, wie wichtig Vielfalt und Chancen ­gleichheit für den Geschäftserfolg sind. Rund 90 verschiedene Nationalitäten, eine ausgeglichene Altersstruktur und ein kontinuierlicher Anstieg des Frauenanteils sprechen für erfolgreich gelebte Diversität bei DEKRA.

Fußballturniere, Ski-Cups, Biker Treffs – es gibt bei DEKRA viele Anlässe, sich über das Arbeitsumfeld hinaus auszutauschen. In den Events kommt die lebendige Kultur des Unternehmens zum Ausdruck. Sie zeigen aber auch, dass DEKRA seinen Mitarbeitern Wertschätzung entgegenbringt.

Wir sind gemeinsam auf dem Weg, Mobilitätsthemen wie das automatisierte Fahren Wirklichkeit werden zu lassen.

TORSTEN GOLLEWSKI
Head of Autonomous Mobility Solutions ZF Friedrichshafen AG

CLEMENS KLINKE
Member of the Management Board DEKRA SE, COO, Regions and Sales, Head of Region Germany

Mit rund 150.000 Mitarbeitern in 40 Ländern liefert ZF vor allem Systeme für die Mobilität von Pkw und Nutzfahrzeugen. Ein Schwerpunkt der Weiterentwicklung liegt in der Elektrifizierung, digitalen Vernetzung und Automatisierung: ZF lässt Fahrzeuge sehen, denken und handeln.

„ZF ist ein gefragter Partner, wenn es um die Realisierung des automatisierten Fahrens geht“, erläutert Torsten Gollewski. „Der Grund dafür sind unsere umfassenden Systemlösungen rund um Sensoren, Rechenleistung, Software und Aktuatoren.“

Innovationen präsentiert der Technologiekonzern mit Sitz in Friedrichshafen regelmäßig im Rahmen seiner ZF Global Technology Days. Die einwöchige Veranstaltung fand 2019 bei DEKRA statt, und zwar auf dem zum DEKRA Technology Center 

gehörenden DEKRA Lausitzring in Klettwitz. ZF präsentierte seine Lösungen für die „Next Generation Mobility“ eine Woche lang vor internationalen Medienvertretern sowie Kunden. Dabei standen Hybrid- und Elektroantriebe für Pkw, Systemlösungen für das automatisierte Fahren sowie integrierte Sicherheit und innovative Fahrwerktechnik im Mittelpunkt. Etwa 60 Kilometer nördlich von Dresden gelegen, sind die Strecken und die Infrastruktur des DEKRA Lausitzrings für derartige Veranstaltungen prädestiniert. 

„Die Kombination aus Technologiezentrum, Test- und Rennstrecke ist nicht nur eine Innovationsstätte für die Mobilität der Zukunft, sondern auch eine perfekte Eventlocation“, berichtet Clemens Klinke, Vorstand der DEKRA SE und Head of Regions and Sales.

Schon heute ist der DEKRA Lausitzring das größte herstellerunabhängige Test- und Prüfzentrum in Europa rund um das automatisierte Fahren. DEKRA bildet dort die komplette Test kette ab – von der Simulation über reproduzierbare Tests bis zu Feldversuchen auf der Strecke. Doch DEKRA baut die Stellung weiter aus. In diesem Jahr wird der Ausbau der Teststrecken mit der Errichtung von Testmöglichkeiten für vernetzte Fahrfunktionen vorangetrieben.

In Deutschland entsteht derzeit ein neues Ökosystem der Mobilität der Zukunft. Hersteller, Zulieferer, Forschungseinrichtungen und Expertenorganisationen wie DEKRA sorgen dafür, dass die Mobilität der Zukunft nicht nur automatisiert, sondern auch sicher ist.